Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island
Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island
Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island
Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island
Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island
Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island

CRESLI Seal Walks and Research at Cupsogue

Join us for our 15th consecutive year at Cupsogue in late 2019

By: A. H. Kopelman, PhD


CRESLI Seal Walks and Research at Cupsogue

CRESLI Seal Sightings at Cupsogue Beach Park ended April 28, 2019

 Best photos of the 2018/2019 seal season

 Reports for each trip below

Date Time Status
Saturday, November 24, 2018 11:30 AM SEAL WALK  2 harbor seals were seen during research monitoring but were unfortunately not seen during the seal walk
Sunday, December 2, 2018 8:00 AM SEAL WALK  Canceled due to weather
Monday December 3, 2018 RESEARCH TRIP

77 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Saturday, December 8, 2018 11:30 AM SEAL WALK 

93 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, December 16, 2018 7:00 AM SEAL WALK  Canceled due to weather
Monday December 17, 2018 RESEARCH TRIP

53 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Saturday, December 22, 2018 10:30 AM SEAL WALK 

34 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, December 23, 2018 11:30 AM SEAL WALK 

24 harbor seals seen during monitoring. Just before arrival for our walk, the seals were chased off the sandbar by a vessel approaching too closely. Please keep your distance from seals

PHOTOS

Thursday, December 27, 2018 RESEARCH TRIP

53 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, December 30, 2018 7:00 AM SEAL WALK 

120 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Thursday, January 03, 2019 RESEARCH TRIP

110 Harbor seals

PHOTOS

Saturday, January 5, 2019 11:00 AM SEAL WALK  canceled due to weather
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 RESEARCH TRIP

132 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Thursday, January 17, 2019

SEAL WALK FOR

SOUTH OCEAN MIDDLE SCHOOL

132 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Friday, January 18, 2019

SEAL MONITORING WITH

WALDORF SCHOOL OF GARDEN CITY

117 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Saturday, January 19, 2019 10:00 AM SEAL WALK 

123 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, January 20, 2019 10:30 AM SEAL WALK  Canceled due to weather
Saturday, February 2, 2019 10:00 AM SEAL WALK

105 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, February 3, 2019

10:30 AM SEAL WALK 

52 seals hauled out early on the sand bar; they were flushed later and about 20 ultimately hauled-out on the near shore rocks

Saturday, February 16, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

122 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, February 17, 2019 10:00 AM SEAL WALK 

118 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Friday, February 22, 2019 RESEARCH TRIP

 92 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Saturday, March 2, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

20 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, March 3, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

92 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Saturday, March 16, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

91 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday, March 17, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

101 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 RESEARCH TRIP 

104 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Friday, March 29, 2019

SEAL WALK FOR

LITTLE PEEPERS FOREST SCHOOL

157 harbor seals

PHOTOS
Saturday, March 30, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

136 HARBOR SEALS DURING POST-SUNRISE MONITORING SESSION. ALL SEALS ON THE SANDBAR HAD BEEN FLUSHED BEFORE OUR SCHEDULED WALK.

~40 WERE SWIMMING AND ANOTHER 20 WERE HAULED OUT ON THE ROCKS NEAR SHORE.

THE SEALS ON THE ROCKS WERE FLUSHED BY AN ILLEGAL CLOSE APPROACH BY COAST GUARD AUXILIARY VESSELS. THE INCIDENT HAD BEEN TAPED AND A REPORT TO THE AUTHORITIES WILL BE SENT

PHOTOS

Sunday, March 31, 2019 9:00 AM SEAL WALK 

51 HARBOR SEALS: (28 ON NEAR-SHORE ROCKS & 23 ON SANDBAR)

PHOTOS 
Saturday, April 05, 2019

SEAL MONITORING

THE WALDORF SCHOOL OF GARDEN CITY

20 Swimming harbor seals

PHOTOS 

Saturday, April 13, 2019 8:00 AM SEAL WALK  22  harbor seals

PHOTOS 

Saturday, April 14, 2019 8:00 AM SEAL WALK 

128 harbor seals - dense fog

PHOTOS 

Sunday, April 16, 2019

SEAL MONITORING

THE WALDORF SCHOOL OF GARDEN CITY

109 harbor seals

PHOTOS 

Saturday, April 27, 2019 8:00 AM SEAL WALK 

17 harbor seals

PHOTOS

Sunday,  April 28, 2019 8:00 AM SEAL WALK 

14 HARBOR SEALS HAULED OUT AT THE FAR NORTHEASTERN OF THE SANDBAR. THIS HAS NEVER BEEN SEEN IN 14 YEARS OF MONITORING

PHOTOS